Flood Submerges 21 Delta Communities



Flood has submerged 21 Communities in Burutu Local Government
Area of Delta State.

The ongoing seasonal flood has wrecked an untold havoc on communities
at the banks of Ramos and Forcados Rivers and their estuaries in Delta

The inhabitants have built makeshift houses in their canoes to sleep
while their houses have been submerged by the flood to a window level.
The Communities submerged include Eseimogbene, Ekametagbene,
Oyangbene, Akparemogbene, Egolegbene, Ayakoromo, Bubougbene, Newtown, Yayorogbene, Gbekebor, Obotebe, Ekorogbene and Okrika.
Others are: Ebeingbene, Ogboingbene, Ogodobiri, Okoloba, Akugbene,
Enekorogha, Edegbene, Opurutiegbene, Kalafuogbene, Ebeberegbene,


Speaking on behalf of the Communities, National President of the
Foundation for Human Rights and Anti-Corruption Crusade,FHRACC,
Alaowei Cleric, Esq in a statement signed and made available to DAILY
POST sent a”Save Our Soul” message to the Delta State Government to
come to their rescue.

Cleric stated that,” The situation is becoming so precarious in the
affected communities except an urgent attention is given to them by
the relevant authorities.”

“We can’t tell what will be the fate of these people in the incoming
days if no succour is given to them.”

“We therefore call on the Government of Delta State, especially the
State Emergency Management Agency, (SEMA), National Emergency
Management Agency, (NEMA), Red Cross Society and all developmental
partners/NGOs to come to the aid of these communities.”

” We also implore the Governor of Delta State, His Excellency, Sen.
(DR.) Ifeanyi Okowa to send an emergency response team to the affected
communities to get first hand information.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here