2019 Awards: ASPAA Congratulates Kano Govt, 28 Awardees On Successful Ceremony

    Some recipients of the ASPAA 2019 Awards pose with their awards

    By KATO P. LADAN, Kaduna

    The entire members of Arewa Sports Personality Award Association (ASPAA) have  congratulated His Excellency, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje-led administration and all 28 awardees for a successful hosting of the Arewa Sports Personality Award Association (ASPAA) in 2019 in Kano State. 

    This was contained in a statement signed by Abdulazeez Ibrahim on behalf of For ASPAA, made available on Wednesday January 8, 2019.

    The second edition of the most prestigious sports award in Northern Nigeria, held on Monday 30th December 2019 at Bristol Palace Hotel Kano.

    Among dignitaries that graced the event were the Deputy Governor of Kano State, Dr. Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna, His Royal Highness Mai of Bade in Yobe State, Alhaji Abubakar Suleiman, representative of the Governor of Kebbi State, sports stakeholders from across Northern Nigeria, as well as representatives of several National Sports Federations. 

    The association under the leadership of the Chairperson of ASPAA, who is also the Chairperson Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria (BON), Hajiya Sa’a Ibrahim said it will always be grateful to the sports-loving Governor of Kano State Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje for his support. 

    “We use this medium to announce that recipients of ASPAA 2018 and 2019 are our Ambassadors in their various states in Northern Nigeria. 

    “These individuals can speak for us wherever they are and we will continue to work with them to actualize our vision, which is to be the recognized body for promoting outstanding achievements in sports by individuals from Arewa region of our dear country,” it stated.

    According to the statement, ASPAA 2019 Non-voting Award Recipients are;

    SPORTS-LOVING GOVERNOR OF THE YEARHis Excellency, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje (OFR)

    LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARDHis Royal Highness, Alhaji Abubakar Suleiman
    Chairman Dala Hardcourt Championship, Alhaji Bashari Gumel

    AWARD FOR SUPPORT OF GRASSROOTS DEVELOPMENT OF SPORTS IN NORTHERN NIGERIAHis Excellency, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu Executive Governor of Kebbi state
    His Excellency, Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrazak Executive Governor of Kwara state
    Chairperson AHIP Basketball club, Hajiya Mairo Bello Garko
    Member Kano Turf (Sukuwa-Horse riding) Club, Alhaji Kamal Maiturare

    AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE AS A SPORTS ADMINISTRATOR Vice President, Nigeria Football Federation Mallam Shehu Dikko
    General Secretary, Nigeria Football Federation Dr. Muhammad Sanusi
    Chairman, Zamfara state F.A. Alhaji Ibrahim Gusau
    Chairman, Borno state F.A. Alhaji Babagana Kalli Kachala

    Organizers of AHLAN Preseason Tournament

    It disclosed that the ASPA 2019 Voting Award Recipients are;

    SPORTS MAN OF THE YEAR – Super Eagles Captain, Ahmed Musa
    SPORTS WOMAN OF THE YEAR – NWBL Most Valuable Player, Murjanatu Musa
    SPORTS ADMINISTRATOR OF THE YEAR – Chairman Kano F.A, Alahji Sharif Inuwa
    COACH OF THE YEAR – Kano Pillars F.C Coach Ibrahim Musa
    POLO PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Idris Badamasi
    BALL SPORTS PERSON OF THE YEAR – Barewa Rugby Club player, Nuhu Ibrahim
    NPFL PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Nasarawa United player, Ibrahim Sunusi
    NWPFL PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Confluence Queens player, Hauwa Abdullahi
    YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Nasarawa United player, Ibrahim Sunusi
    RACKET SPORTS PERSON OF THE YEAR – Tennis player, Shehu Lawal
    PARA SPORTS PERSON OF THE YEAR – Plateau Parasoccer Player  , Tony Tabais
    SPORTS JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR (TV) – Niger State TV, Alhassan Kutigi SPORTS JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR (RADIO) – Vision FM, Ismail Tangalashi
    SPORTS JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR (PRINT) – Nigerian Pilot, Umar Sai’d
    SPORTS JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR (ONLINE) – Futball Oven, Jesse O. Yacham

    In a related development,  ASPAA informed that will continue with a Deaf Football Novelty Match to take place at Tudun Malki Special School in Kano next week. 

    “Bidding by states interested in hosting this year’s edition has commenced and the announcement of the selected host state will be made public in April. 

    “We commend all those that contributed in one way or the other to the success of this year’s ASPA and we urge you  to sustain the tempo as we prepare for ASPA 2020,” it concluded.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here