Confusion in Niger as APC Suspends 3 Senators, 6 Reps


    The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Niger State has suspended its three senators and six House of Representatives members over non remittance of dues to the party.
    Speaking to Channels Television correspondent at the party’s secretariat in Minna, the APC Secretary, Barrister Mohammed Liman, said that out of the 13 legislators at both chambers of the National Assembly produced by the party, only four Federal House of Representatives members have paid their dues till date.

    He said, “The constitution of our party is very clear on it, it says any member or political appointee that came into being through the platform of our party and fails to pay his dues is technically not a member of the party.
    “The constitution says you must pay your dues as and when due. This means technically they have suspended themselves.”
    He stated further; “Those we elected did not deem it fit to support the party financially, and how do they want the part to move on?
    “They have deliberately refused to pay their dues, they stand suspended technically. It is only four House of Representatives members and all State Assembly members that have complied.”
    Among those affected are Senators Mustapha Sani Mohammed (Zone A), David Umaru (Zone B), and Aliyu Abdullahi Sabi (Zone C).
    Members of the Federal House of Representatives affected include Hon. Mohammad Mahmood of Lapai/Agaie federal constituency, and Muhammed Bala Faruk of Bida/Gbako/Kacha constituency.
    Others are Ahmed Abu representing Lavun/Edati/Mokwa constituency, Shehu Sule representing Magama/Rijau constituency, Salihu Adamu Shadafi of Bosso/Paikoro Constituency and Abubakar Lado Abdullahi of Suleja/Tafa/Gurara constituency.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here