FG Releases Another Paris Club Refunds Of N243bn To States


    The Federal Government (FG) has released a State by State breakdown of another tranche of Paris Club refund of over-deductions on Paris Club, London Club Loans and Multilateral debts on the accounts of States and Local Governments (1995-2002).

    This was contained in a statement made available, signed by the  Director (Information), Federal Ministry of Finance, SALISU NA’INNA DAMBATTA.

    It informed that these payments which totalled N243, 795,465,195.20   were made   to the 36 States and the Federal Capital Territory upon the approval of the President on May 4, 2017, in partial settlement of long-standing claims by State Governments relating to over-deductions from their Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) allocation for external debt service arising between 1995 and 2002.

    The Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun explained that these debt service deductions were in respect of the Paris Club, London Club and Multilateral debts of the FG and States. While Nigeria reached a final agreement for debt relief with the Paris Club in October 2005, some States had already been overcharged.

    The funds were released to State Governments as part of the wider efforts to stimulate the economy and were specifically designed to support states in meeting salary and other obligations, thereby alleviating the challenges faced by workers. The releases were conditional upon a minimum of 75 per cent being applied to the payment of workers’ salaries and pensions for States that owe salaries and pension. The Federal Ministry of Finance is reviewing the impact of these releases on the level of arrears owed by State Governments.

    A detailed report is being compiled for presentation to the Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, as part of the process for approval for the release of any subsequent tranches.

    See the graphic breakdown of the disbursemen as contained in the table below:


    1            ABIA      5,715,765,871.48

    2            ADAMAWA        6,114,300,352.68

    3            AKWA-IBOM      10,000,000,000.00

    4            ANAMBRA         6,121,656,702.34

    5            BAUCHI 6,877,776,561.25

    6            BAYELSA             10,000,000,000.00

    7            BENUE  6,854,671,749.25

    8            BORNO 7,340,934,865.32

    9            CROSS RIVER     6,075,343,946.93

    10         DELTA   10,000,000,000.00

    11         EBONYI 4,508,083,379.98

    12         EDO      6,091,126,592.49

    13         EKITI      4,772,836,647.08

    14         ENUGU 5,361,789,409.66

    15         GOMBE 4,472,877,698.19

    16         IMO      7,000,805,182.97

    17         JIGAWA 7,107,666,706.76

    18         KADUNA            7,721,729,227.55

    19         KANO    10,000,000,000.00

    20         KATSINA             8,202,130,909.85

    21         KEBBI    5,977,499,491.45

    22         KOGI     6,027,727,595.80

    23         KWARA 5,120,644,326.57

    24         LAGOS  8,371,938,133.11

    25         NASARAWA       4,551,049,171.12

    26         NIGER   7,210,793,154.95

    27         OGUN   5,739,374,694.46

    28         ONDO   7,003,648,314.28

    29         OSUN    6,314,106,340.62

    30         OYO      7,901,609,864.25

    31         PLATEAU            5,644,079,055.41

    32         RIVERS  10,000,000,000.00

    33         SOKOTO             6,441,128,546.76

    34         TARABA              5,612,014,491.52

    35         YOBE     5,413,103,116.59

    36         ZAMFARA          5,442,385,594.49

    37         FCT        684,867,500.04

                  TOTAL   243,795,465,195.20


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here