12th Annual General Assembly Of ABU Alumni To Hold August 18



    The 12th Annual General Assembly (AGA) of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria Alumni Association has been scheduled to hold on 19th of August, 2017.
    This was revealed by National President, ABU Alumni Association and National Chairman, Conference of Alumni Associations of Nigeria Universities, Professor Ahmed Tijjani Mora while briefing the press in Kaduna on Thursday.
    According to him, “12th AGA will take place on Saturday, 19 August. 2017 at the Senate Chambers, ABU Main Campus, Samaru, Zaria”.
    The AGA is the highest organ of the Association and is attended by ten (10) delegates from each of the 36 States, the FCT and Zaria branches as well as two (2) from each of the thirteen (13) Faculty-based Chapters of the University.
    National President added that, a delegate only represent an overseas branch noting that, AGA Lecture normally takes place a day earlier and which in this case will be Friday, 18th August, 2017.
    His text in part, ” the Association is finalizing arrangements for Hajiya Amina Mohammed, the Deputy Secretary General (DSG) of the United Nations to deliver the Lecture in the Assembly Hall, Main Campus at 3:00pm.
    “His Excellency, br. Mohammed Sanusi Barkindo, a distinguished Alumnus and the Executive Secretary, OPEC, Vienna, Austria is expected to chair the Lecture which is a major event annually along with the AGA.
    “Last year, at the 11th AGA, Mallam Mohammed Hayatu-been, the founder and Vice Chairman of Alpine Group Ltd. Lagos, and a distinguished Alumnus delivered a very thought promoting Lecture which was chaired Alhaji (Dr) Mahmud Yayale Ahmed, CFR (Ajiyan Katogum) a distinguished Alumnus who represented His Excellency, Atiku Abubakar, GCON, former Vice President and a distinguished Alumnus of the University too.
    “All the Eleven (11) Governors that are Alumni members of the great University as well as the FCT Minister, also an Alumnus have been invited as Guests of Honours with the host Governor of Kaduna State as the Special Guest of Honour.
    “Other Governors in the North and the eight (8) Ministers that are graduates of the University were also invited as Special Guests. The Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of ABU Governing Council AVM (Rtd) Moukhtar Mohammed (Wazirin Dutse) and the Chancellor, HRM Igwe (Dr) Nnaemeka Alfred Ugochukwu Achebe, CFR, mm, the Abogidi, Obi of Onitsha will all be in attendance. The Vice Chancellor, Professor Ibrahim Garba is the Chief Host”.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here