Restructuring: Former Lawmaker Wants 3 States Created Out Of Delta



    A former member of the defunct Bendel State House of Assembly, Hon.
    Michael Oghenekaro has called on the Federal Government to create
    three States out of the present Delta State for the Urhobo Nation in
    the interest of Urhobo people.

    AUTHENTIC News Daily gathered this from Esemugboja of Udu Kingdom  at a World Press Conference held in Warri on Tuesday.

    Oghenekaro noted that the Urhobo Nation which is the fifth largest ethnic nationality in Nigeria in terms of population is the largest minority group in the midst of other minorities that has no single state of its own.

    Oghenekaro stated that the call became necessary because the Urhobo Nation has been denied their rights and privileges in the Nigerian state.

    Oghenekaro stated that the three names to be created from the old colonial arrangements of Central and Weatern Urhobo Divisions are Ughelli, Ethiope and Ame.

    Oghenekaro said,”Of all the ethnic nationalities in the old Mid-Western Region,Only the Urhobos have been denied benefits of statehood in Nigeria.

    All colonial arrangements and geopolitical structures except as it affects Urhobo nation, have since largely respected on tribal grounds whereby States have been created for the

    Hausa, Yorubas, Ibos and the Ijaws that make up the 4th largest tribe.” Oghenekaro said Delta State that it is pathetic with Igbos,Ijaws,Itsekiris and Isokos lumped together with the fifth largest ethnic tribe with an Urhobo governor always suffering serious disloyalty and insurgency from other tribes.

    He emphasized that,” The Urhobo ethnic nationality is the only one denied the rights and privileges accruable to a state;Whereas the contribution of the Urhobo ethnic nationality to the continuous and corporate existence of Nigeria is well known and documented.”

    Oghenekaro gave the names of the proposed States to include,Ughelli
    comprising, Agbarho-Otor, Agbarho, Arhavwarien, Effurun Otor, Ewhu, Evwreni, Ughelli, Ogor, Okparabe, Uwheru, Ughievwen, Olomu and Orogun of the proposed States to include,Ughelli comprising,
    Agbarho-Otor, Agbarho,Arhav Kingdoms with headquarter at Ughelli Town.

    Ethiope State and Towns include,
    Abraka,Umiaghwa-Abraka,Agbon,Okpe,Idherhe,Oghara and Mosogar with
    headquarters in Sapele.

    Ame State and Towns includes, Agbarha-Ame, Okere,Uvwie and Udu with
    headquarters in Udu.

    Oghebekaro also called on the Federal Government to place a ban on the
    importation of power generating sets as a panacea to the erratic power
    supply in the Country.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here