Hope Rises In Shehu Sani’s Camp Over Tribunal’s Permission To Inspect Election Materials

    Senator Shehu Sani

    By KATO P. LADAN, Kaduna

    There is excitement and hope has risen in the camp of incumbent Senator representing Kaduna Central, Distinguished Senator Shehu Sani  over his claims to have won the February 23 Senatorial polls for the zone.
    The National and State Houses of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Kaduna had granted the  Senator who contested under the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) request to inspect the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)’s collation result sheets for Kaduna Central Senatorial zone.
    His camp is excited with the development, our correspondent gathered on Friday March 29, 2019 and are optimistic of claiming victory at the tribunal.
    The sitting Senator Shehu Sani who contested the polls, lost to Uba Sani of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), a position since rejected by Senator Shehu Sani.

    The Senator and his party thereafter rejected the results and resolved to challenge it in the court.
    The tribunal Chairman, Justice A. H Suleiman granted Senator Sani’s request contained in an ex parte motion he filed alongside his party the PRP.
    In their petition No. EPT/KD/SN/M/02/19, the applications asked INEC, to make results sheets and incident forms available to them for inspection.
    Ruling of an ex-parte motion, Justice Suleiman said: “An order is hereby made compelling the 3rd Respondent (INEC) to allow the petitioners/applicants or their agents or assigns access to inspect documents (Form EC8A, Eze INEC incident forms) and result sheets of all polling units in the seven Local government Areas that make up Kaduna Central Senatorial district.”
    “An order is hereby also made on the 3rd Respondent to make available to the petitioners/Applicants certified True Copy of all the documents,” he ruled.
    The seven LGAs are Chikun, Kaduna North, Kaduna South, Igabi, Kajuru, Birnin Gwari and Giwa.
    It would be recalled that the third major contender, Lawal Adamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) also rejected the outcome of the results of the Senatorial Zone.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here