Nigeria’s Democracy Under Threat Without A Strong Parliament – Saraki

Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki speaking when an award of excellence bestowed on him and Speaker House of Representatives, Rt. Honourable Yakubu Dogara as well as Senators Shehu Sani, Kabiru Marafa and Magnus Abe by the Arewa Online Publishers Forum on Tuesday May 14, 2019 in his office. Photo: BASHIR BELLO DOLLARS.

*as he bags Arewa Online Publishers Forum Awards alongside Dogara, Shehu Sani, Magnus Abe, Kabiru Marafa

By KATO P. LADAN, Kaduna

Nigeria cannot move ahead and make any meaningful progress without a strong Parliament which ensures effective checks and balances according to the principle of separation of powers among the three arms of government.

Senate President/Chairman of the National Assembly, Dr. Abubakar Bukoka Saraki expressed this on Tuesday May 14, 2019, after receiving an award of excellence from the Arewa Online Publishers Forum at his office.

Saraki, who was visibly excited with the award, said that without a strong Parliament, democracy us threatened.
“As long as our Parliament is strong Nigeria will be stronger.
“I think it is important that we lay a solid foundation to strenghten our democracy,” he said.

Speaking further, the Senate President, said that the media has been playing an important role in ensuring the survival of democracy, while tasking it to do even more.
“You have responsibility to ensure that individual interest gives room for collective interest for a better Nigeria for all,” he tasked.

Dr. Saraki thanked the association for the award, while stressing that he was happy that the media was able to appreciate what the 8th National Assembly stood for..
“This will spur us on to do more for Nigeria individually and collectively,” he assured.

The Arewa Online Publishers Forum, which has membership across the 19 Northern states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja, also presented awards to Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Honourable Yakubu Dogara, Senator Shehu Sani, Senator Kabiru Marafa and Senator Magnus Abe.
The awards were in recognition of their vibrant contributions to democracy in the 8th Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here