Ogun State Indigenous Students Get New Executives



    The Ogun State Students under the aegis of National Association of Ogun State Students (NAOSS) has on Saturday gotten a new executive to steer its affairs for the next one year in a peaceful conducted election.

    The election which took place at the Training College of the Civil Defence Corps in Abeokuta witnessed the presence of delegate electorates from different tertiary institutions across the nation.

    In the full glance of journalists, security agents and stakeholders, the electorates voted their preferred candidates into all the executive and legislative positions.

    While announcing the results of the election, the electoral chairman, Comr. Kehinde Olaonipekun declared the following as winners while others were elected unopposed. He however described the election as satisfactory and in line with the constitution of the association. 

    The electoral chairman also used the medium to state reasons why the previous election was cancelled. 

    “You will recall that the first election was held at iwe iroyin on 6th July, 2019 but was hijacked by miscreants, touts and hooligans and as a result of it, several petitions were received from the delegates, chapter heads, Stakeholders and security agencies. Based onto this and for posterity and fairness, we declared that election null and void.

    “I am happy that today’s election is peaceful and followed due process. We had 26 chapters accredited out of 48 as a result of threat by some hoodlums who doesn’t want this rerun to take place”, he concluded. 

    Zaka Abidemi Azeez who emerged as President with 17 votes defeated his closest opponent, Ogunrombi Gbemileke who had 7 votes while 2 votes were voided. 

    Other excos are: Akinremi Samson Eniola (Vice President I), Okeleye Odunayo (VP II) Adegelu Collins (VP III), Sowole Basit (Gen. Sec.), Abdulazeez Bashir Adegboyega (PRO I), Jolaosho Azeez (PRO II), Nurudeen Popoola (PRO III), Abolade Ibrahim (Fin. Sec.), Adeyeri Sodiq (Treasurer), Adekunle Tobi (Welfare Director), Abidogun Abisoye (Social Director), Olaniyi Timothy (AGS I), Bamgbela Surprise (AGS II).

    Elected Legislatives are: Sodiq Shakiru (Senate president), Ajayi Oluwafemi (Deputy Senate president), Oshikomaya Gbolahan (Clerk) and Sodunke Ganiu (Chief Whip).

    In his own reaction, the President-elect who is a 400level Mechanical Engineering student of LASPOTECH appreciates all electorates who gave their votes to him and stood by him, he described them as his “dear brothers and sisters”.

    He then promised to sustain the peaceful atmosphere in Ogun state and to work with the governor of the state, Prince Dapo Abiodun in the interests of all indigenous students


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here