ABU Alumni Association: Arc Khalil Emerges National President


    By KATO P. LADAN, Kaduna

    Arc. Dr. Ibrahim Sani Khalil has emerged as the National President of Ahmadu Bello University Alumni Association world wide.
    The newly elected President Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil  defeated Alh. Abubakar Ladan from Kebbi State branch with  total votes of 107 against 153 during the fourteenth annual general assembly of the association which was held at ABU, Kongo, Zaria.
    Mr. Mathew Okechukwu was elected as the Vice President South East with 180 votes while his opponent Mr. Jeff Nsubodu scored 110.
    While Adamu Mamman Kontagora won the Deputy National President with 200 votes, defeating  Prof. Sunday Ogunduyele who got one 124 votes.
     In his inaugural speech, the newly elected National President of ABU Almuni Association Worldwide, Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil said the act of giving back shall be the guiding principles for growth and development of the institution in his administration.
    He assured of giving  priorities to the structures, academic and adminstrative, including the immediate university community.
    The newly elected National President said the National Executive Council and the National Consultative Council are among the arms of running the association and such roles shall be enhanced and not  eroded. He also assured of mobilizing students to understand the rudiments of the alumni association in order to develop themselves for the future.
    “Documentation of all activities especially recommendations and approvals in respect of the finances of the association shall follow due process and international best practices as Abusite is always ahead,” he said.
    ” Alumni’s relationship with directorate of the university advancement, a good and healthy relationship shall be maintained with a view to the expansion and developmental needs of the institution”.
    He assured that the financial activities of the association shall be synchronized with international best practices for transparency and accountability.
    The newly elected National President is from the Kano State Branch and currently serves as the Head of Department of Architecture, Bayero University Kano.
    Other officers returned unopposed are Barrister A. A. Irogalachi as Legal Adviser, Mr. Sam Agbi Treasurer, Malam Danjuma Muhmud as Public Relations Officer, Magaji Abubakar Mato as Internal Auditor.
    Others are; Prof. Maryam Aminu Assistant Secretary General, Arc. Lawal M. Yusuf as Secretary General while Mr. Lanre Ahmed Olanrewaju is the Vice President North Central, Pharm. Ali Gajerima  Vice President North East and  Alh. Aliyu Mohammed Anka, Vice President North West.
    Prince Ovanramren Samwonyi is the Vice President South South,and Dr. Ibrahim Hassan, Vice President International Branches, while Barr. Lateef Abdulsalam emerged Vice President South West.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here