Nimrod Unveiled As North West Chairman Break Dance Sports Federation


    *warns politicians against using platform for campaign

    By; KATO P. LADAN, Kaduna

    President of the Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF), Engineer Musa Nimrod has added another responsibility as he has been inaugurated Chairman of Nigeria Break Dance Sports Federation (NBDSF) North West Zone.

    With the new task, he leads others in the zone in pushing for the grassroots development of the NBDSF, which has been described as a potential for keeping youth positively engaged.

    In his remarks at a press conference held at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Thursday October 27, Engineer Nimrod thanked God, saying the federation has come at the right time, in view of the fact that it is an Olympic sport.

    “This digital age, there is the need to get the youth equipped. It is a desire for any sports person to go to Olympics and afterwards, be addressed an an Olympian. Whether you win a medal or not, you are tagged an Olympian, the honour and the recognition will be given to you. Even if you die, you will keep being an Olympian.

    “It is a welcome development and we will continue to support this. Break Dance will really help in ridding society of drugs and other vices,” he said.

    He tasked the Chief coach to create competitions in communities to discover budding talents.

    He however, warned that, “I want to warn the politicians not to use the Break Dance Federation as a political platform. Anybody coming to use the federation, the sponsorship should be sustainable.

    “If anyone wants to sponsor competition on break dance, it should be sustainable as such, they must sponsor for years, not just during the electioneering period,” he stressed.

    Others on the North West executive are, Aisha Ismail (Vice Chairman), Florence Yori (Secretary), Aminu Mohammed (Treasurer), Philip Arome Omachi (Publicity/Media), Funsho Olukesusi (Competition), Aminu Abbah Umar (Marketing), Yusuf Ibrahim (Asso. Development) and Vital Ijeh (Lobito) (Choreographer).

    Members are, Mohammed Yahaya (Long Short), Ibrahim Dalo (Kakis),
    Aliyu Ibrahim (Sharlama), Sagir Sani (M Jackson), Aminu Sani,
    Mohammed Ubale, Suleiman Adamu (Quarters) and Femi Lako.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here